2018 Film Independent Spirit Award Winners


LOS ANGELES – Film Independent, the nonprofit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the LA Film Festival, handed out honors to Call Me by Your Name, Get Out, I, Tonya, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, The Big Sick, Ingrid Goes West and Lady Bird at this afternoon’s 33rd Film Independent Spirit Awards. Life and Nothing More, Faces Places and A Fantastic Woman also received awards at the ceremony, which was held on the beach in Santa Monica. In addition to being the celebration that honors artist-driven films made with an economy of means by filmmakers whose films embody diversity, innovation and uniqueness of vision, the Spirit Awards is the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs.

The ceremony aired live today on IFC and Facebook Watch.

The following is a complete list of the winners:

Best Feature:

Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Producers: Jason Blum, Edward H. Hamm Jr., Sean McKittrick, Jordan Peele

Best Director:

Jordan Peele, Get Out (Universal Pictures)

Best Screenplay:

Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird (A24)

Best First Feature:

Ingrid Goes West (NEON)

Director: Matt Spicer

Producers: Jared Ian Goldman, Adam Mirels, Robert Mirels, Aubrey Plaza,

Tim White, Trevor White

Best First Screenplay:

Emily V. Gordon, Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick (Amazon Studios)

John Cassavetes Award (For best feature made under $500,000):

Life and Nothing More (CFI Releasing)

Writer/Director: Antonio Méndez Esparza

Producers: Amadeo Hernández Bueno, Alvaro Portanet Hernández,

Pedro Hernández Santos

Best Supporting Female:

Allison Janney, I, Tonya (NEON)

Best Supporting Male:

Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Fox Searchlight)

Best Female Lead:

Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

(Fox Searchlight)

Best Male Lead:

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Robert Altman Award:

Mudbound (Netflix)

Director: Dee Rees

Casting Directors: Billy Hopkins, Ashley Ingram

Ensemble Cast: Jonathan Banks, Mary J. Blige, Jason Clarke, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Mitchell, Rob Morgan, Carey Mulligan

Best Cinematography:

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Editing:

Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya (NEON)

Best International Film:

A Fantastic Woman (Chile – Sony Pictures Classics)

Director: Sebastián Lelio

Best Documentary:

Faces Places (Cohen Media Group)

Directors: Agnés Varda, JR

Producer: Rosalie Varda

Comments are closed.