51st Chicago International Film Festival Award Winners



The Midwest Premiere of Where To Invade Next Occurs at the Chicago International Film Festival (CIFF) and Director Michael Moore Receives Founder’s Award

CHICAGO – Michael Kutza, Founder & Artistic Director of the Chicago International Film Festival, Programming Director Mimi Plauché, and Programmers Anthony Kaufman and Camille Lugan and Competitions Coordinator Sam Flancher proudly announce the winners of the 51st Chicago International Film Festival Competitions.

Hosted by Managing Director Vivian Teng, the Awards Ceremony was held Friday, October 23 at 8:30pm and was held at The Peninsula (108 E. Superior, Chicago). Awards were presented in the following categories: International Feature Film Competition, New Directors Competition, Documentary Competition, Roger Ebert Award, Chicago Award, Q-Hugo Award, and Short Films. Award Nights was sponsored by Michigan Avenue Magazine and Wintrust Community Banks.

Top honors went to: Philippe Claudel’s powerful A Childhood (France), winner of both the Gold Hugo for Best Film and the Silver Hugo for Best Actor (for first-time child actors Alexi Mathieu and Jules Gauzelin); Pengfei Song’s illuminating ode to modern Chinese society, Underground Fragrance (China, France), winner of the New Directors Competition Gold Hugo; Pablo Larraín’s profound story of revenge and compassion, The Club (Chile), winner of three Festival awards; and João Pedro Plácido’s sensitive depiction of a rural Portuguese farming village Volta à Terra, winner of the Gold Hugo for best documentary.

– View link for Complete List of Award Winners or festival website for more information of the festival

Comments are closed.